Letter from Maddox Wright about free airline tickets

Here’s another Leading Incentive Agency!  (See other posts here.) Please comment if you received one. Scan it and send it to me if you can.

It tells you that you have qualified for an award of 2 roundtrip airline tickets.  It looks like it was actually signed by Kimberly Post, the Vice President of the Travel Awards Division.

The www.maddoxwright.com website exists. Here’s the whois info: http://www.whois.net/whois/maddoxwright.com — registered August 12, 2010.

They hand write the address on the envelope and use a real stamp.

I have found the answers to this mystery thanks to the great work of the folks at BBB in Tucson, AZ:

http://www.bbb.org/tucson/business-reviews/travel-clubs/southwest-travel-club-in-tucson-az-20007983

http://www.bbb.org/tucson/business-reviews/prize-promotions/patterson-bell-in-tucson-az-20027549

An actual story: http://www.kgun9.com/Global/story.asp?S=12741861

I am the proud recipient of a replica of this letter with the name of Madden Hall. See my earlier blog post about that letter.

Here are some things that seem to be related in some way:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vtPH7q8ysXA

http://www.metacafe.com/watch/5195381/maddox_wright_866_963_7270/

Notice anything similar to maddoxwright.com with these?

Garrison Finley: http://www.garrisonfinley.com/

Sampson Phelps: http://www.sampsonphelps.com/

Burton Malone: http://www.burtonmalone.com/

Strickland Penn: http://stricklandpenn.com/

Harris Fields: http://www.harrisfields.com/

Lexington Duke: http://www.lexingtonduke.com/

Hamilton Gates: http://hamiltongates.com/ (http://twitter.com/hamiltongates)

Madden Hall: http://maddenhall.com/ (http://twitter.com/maddenhall)

Davidson Powell: http://davidsonpowell.com/ (http://twitter.com/davidsonpowell)

Nicholson Barnes: http://www.nicholsonbarnes.com/ (http://twitter.com/nicholsonbarnes)

Warner Rowe: http://www.warnerrowe.com/ (http://twitter.com/warnerrowe)

Larson Keller: http://www.larsonkeller.com/ (http://twitter.com/larsonkeller)

Robinson Rhodes: http://www.robinsonrhodes.com

Stanton Carney: http://www.stantoncarney.com/

Foster Simmons: http://www.fostersimmons.com/

Swanson Carr: http://www.swansoncarr.com/

Morrison Banks: http://www.morrisonbanks.com/

Stanton Carney: http://www.stantoncarney.com/

Zimmerman Cain: http://zimmermancain.com/

Thompson Fuller: http://www.thompsonfuller.com/

Shelton White: http://sheltonwhite.com/

Gilbert Turner: http://gilbertturner.com/

Richardson Blake: http://www.richardsonblake.com/

Sutton Perry: http://www.suttonperry.com/

Chapman Lane

Sullivan Lang

Spencer Burns

Hammond Reed

Lambert Steel

Peterson Burke

Watson Brooks

Bradley Tate

Stevens Cole

Hudson Stone

Hoffman Sims

Patterson Bell

Emerson Ross

Anderson Pratt: http://www.andersonpratt.com

Morgan Stanfield: http://www.morganstanfield.com/

Welsh McCormick: http://welshmccormick.com/

Jensen Sharpe: http://www.jensensharpe.com/

Jefferson Greer: http://www.jeffersongreer.com/

Henderson Gill: http://www.hendersongill.com/

Finn and Gilliam: http://finnandgilliam.com/

Brooks Spade: http://brooksspade.com/

Here are some other links to info these folks:

http://tucsoncitizen.com/bbbconsumeralert/tag/airline-ticket/

http://brahblog.com/2009/08/08/all-the-same-scam-bradley-tate-spencer-burns-hammond-reed-donovan-rich-lambert-steel-and-watson-brooks/

http://slickdeals.net/forums/showthread.php?sduid=0&t=2027392

http://willbradyjournal2.blogspot.com/2010/07/scams-nicholson-barnes.html

Now they are going after me:

http://www.metacafe.com/watch/5201222/brian_morris_tech_fraud/

http://800notes.com/forum/ta-1d0d647e477aec4/brian-morris-techonoly-services-is-a-fraud#p131146269222640741

http://local.yahoo.com/info-29491137-brian-morris-technology-services-irwin;_ylt=Aso39gkA62opRIPEUJo6cKuKNcIF;_ylv=3?tab=reviews#reviews

What a coincidence! Look at how these videos compare:

Hamilton Gates: http://www.kewego.com/video/iLyROoaf8KVL.html

Beware of me: http://www.kewego.com/video/iLyROoaf8NfI.html

TEXT:

(Please help me post a copy of the letter and envelope here.)

I am pleased to inform you that you have qualified for an award of 2 roundtrip airline tickets. Congratulations. These tickets are valid for travel anywhere in the Continental U.S. The retail value of this award is up to $1,400.00. Certain restrictions apply.

We have attempted contacting you several times without success. This is our last attempt. If we do not hear from you soon, we may need to issue the ticket vouchers to the alternate.

Please call me today at ????.

Regards,

Kimberly Post

Vice President, Travel Awards Division

info@maddoxwright.com — www.maddoxwright.com

???? at the bottom

63 replies
« Older Comments
  1. Tobias Jones
    Tobias Jones says:

    I received the same from Rachel Tate.
    They say they have been trying to contact me to send the voucher. However, the letter came to me just fine, so they should have sent the voucher.
    I know it is a mess to get those tickets, and I don’t need a service to tell me where I want to travel. buy a time share crap, or try and sell something.
    Phone on this letter is 866-963-7266
    Thanks Brian Morris for this page.

  2. Kendra
    Kendra says:

    Got a letter that looked too good to be true today, also, from Sampson Phelps. Although I suspected it was a scam, before throwing out the letter, I looked it up and found your site. Thanks so much for posting this info.

  3. Dave
    Dave says:

    Got one today from Linda Moss at Sampson Phelps. I live in Detroit Area. Number to call is 866-963-7204. I think I’ll skip it.

  4. Jennifer
    Jennifer says:

    A friend of mine got one a couple of months ago and showed me this website, and I’m glad she did. My in-laws just flew American Airways and thought that they were getting something for free because they have flown so much. I saw the letter sitting on the table. Thank goodness for the internet so we can share these scams!

  5. Jim
    Jim says:

    Just got a letter from US Airlines, Must respond by Nov 25th, Last attempt. For your award of 1400.00 air travel… Vice President Valerie Fay..

  6. Roy
    Roy says:

    Thought this seemed fishy. A skeptical mind is a good thing to have. My letter was received today. It’s from Anita Welsh, VP (a new name, I noticed) and postmarked from Phoenix. I’m in Michigan, but I have a friend living in Tucson, so I wondered if it was from him.
    The phone number is 866-658-2837. The bottom of it has a website (www.franklinhobbs.com) and a code: FY-8xxxx
    My value for the tix is only $1300 :( Guess I fly coach…

  7. Karen
    Karen says:

    Got mine today from Thompson Wright signed by Shea Dyer. How hilarious. I knew it had to be a marketing gag or a bill collector’s new tactic. I googled it and found this blog! What fun!

  8. Cruzan31
    Cruzan31 says:

    I received a similar letter on a letter head Thompson Wright. It reads:

    NOTE: You must respond no later than February 20th, 2013

    Dear XXX,

    I am pleased to inform you that you have qualified for an award of 2 roundtrip airline tickets. Congratulations. These tickets are valid for travel anywhere in the continental US from any major international airport. the retail value of this award is up to $1,298.00. Certain restrictions apply.

    We have attempted contacting you several times without success. this is our last attempt. If we do not hear from you soon, we may need to issue the ticket vouchers to the alternate.

    Please call me today at 1-866-9536537.

    Regards
    Shea Dyer
    Vice President

    If there was any reason to praise the internet it is this. Imaging how much longer and probably difficult this would be pre-internet and blogging.

  9. Mike
    Mike says:

    It seems there’s a new batch. Got a letter today also from Thompson Wright signed by Shea Dyer. It says I must respond by 2/20/13…the day it arrived. So sneaky the way they juggle company names and VP names. But I guess you have to hand it to their tenacity. I mean, hand signing and addressing each one and using a stamp saved it from being tossed right into the trash.

  10. sheila
    sheila says:

    I received one today FEb 2013 from Thompson/Wright, signed by Shea Dyer – you’ve won two round trip tickets. But note the name change but same MO.

  11. Same scam
    Same scam says:

    When you get a letter and it does not have an address, that is the first sign of a scam.
    From Shea Dyer, VP, Thompson/Wright came an offer for 2 roundtrip airline tickets worth up to $1,298.

    I am going to refer it to the police.

« Older Comments

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>